بحث

عالم الفيزياء فاراداي: سيرة ذاتية ، اكتشافات

الفيزيائي الإنجليزي مايكل فاراداي ، الذي نشأ في فقيرأصبحت عائلة واحدة من أعظم العلماء في تاريخ البشرية. وقد تحققت إنجازاته البارزة في وقت كان فيه العلم هو الكثير من الأشخاص الذين ولدوا في أسر متميزة. تكريما له ، وحدة الطاقة الكهربائية يدعى فاراد.

فاراداي (فيزيائي): سيرة موجزة

ولد مايكل فاراداي في 22 سبتمبر 1791 فيعاصمة بريطانيا العظمى لندن. كان الطفل الثالث في عائلة جيمس ومارغريت فارادييف. كان والده حدادًا كان يعاني من حالة صحية سيئة. قبل الزواج ، عملت والدته كخادمة. العائلة تعيش بشكل سيء.

حتى سن 13 عامًا ، حضر مايكل مدرسة محلية ، حيثتلقى التعليم الابتدائي. لمساعدة الأسرة ، بدأ العمل كمراسلة في محل لبيع الكتب. أعجب حماس الصبي صاحب العمل. وبعد مرور عام ، تمت ترقيته إلى طالب كتّاب.

فيزياء فاراداي

ملزمة وعلم

أراد مايكل فاراداي معرفة المزيد عن العالم. لم يقتصر على ترميم الكتب. بعد العمل اليومي المتحمس ، أمضى كل وقت فراغه في قراءة الكتب التي كان يتشابك معها.

تدريجيا ، اكتشف أنه تم حمله بعيدا عن طريق العلم. خصوصا انه يحب كتابين:

  • الموسوعة البريطانية هي مصدر معرفته للكهرباء وأكثر من ذلك بكثير.
  • "المحادثات على الكيمياء" - 600 صفحة عن الكيمياء في عرض سهل الوصول من تأليف جين مارس.

كان مفتونًا جدًا لدرجة أنه بدأ في إنفاق جزء من أرباحه الهزيلة على المواد الكيميائية والمعدات لتأكيد حقيقة ما كان يقرأه.

توسيع معرفته العلمية ، سمع ذلككان العالم المعروف جون تاتوم سيقدم سلسلة من المحاضرات العامة حول الفلسفة الطبيعية (الفيزياء). لحضور المحاضرات ، كان من الضروري أن تدفع رسمًا واحدًا مقابل شلن - أكثر مما يجب على مايكل فاراداي. أخوه الأكبر ، حداد ، أعجب بالإخلاص المتنامي لأخيه للعلوم ، أعطاه المقدار اللازم.

اكتشاف مايكل فاراداي في الفيزياء

التعارف مع همفري ديفي

اتخذ فاراداي خطوة أخرى نحو العلم عندما سأل وليام دانس ، وهو عميل لبيع الكتب ، مايكل عما إذا كان لديه أي رغبة في الحصول على تذاكر للمحاضرات في المعهد الملكي.

كان المحاضر ، السير همفري ديفي ، واحداً من أكثر المحاضرينمعروفة في عالم العلماء في ذلك الوقت. قفز فاراداي على هذه الفرصة وحضر أربع محاضرات حول واحدة من أحدث مشاكل الكيمياء - تحديد الحموضة. ولاحظ التجارب التي أجراها ديفي في المحاضرات.

كان عالما يريد أن يعيش فيه. احتفظ فاراداي بسجلات ، وقام بعد ذلك بالكثير من الإضافات في الملاحظات بأنه أنتج مخطوطة مكونة من 300 صفحة ، قام بتبادلها وارسل ديفي كرمز للامتنان.

في هذا الوقت في الفناء الخلفي للمكتبةبدأ مايكل بإجراء تجارب أكثر تعقيدًا لإنشاء بطارية كهربائية من العملات النحاسية وأقراص الزنك ، مفصولة بورقة ملح رطبة. استخدمها لتحلل المواد الكيميائية ، على سبيل المثال ، مثل كبريتات المغنيسيوم. في هذا المجال من الكيمياء ، كان همفري ديفي رائدا.

في أكتوبر 1812 ، تم الانتهاء من التدريب المهني لفاراداي ، وبدأ العمل كمحفّظة كتب مع صاحب عمل آخر ، وجده غير سار.

لن تكون هناك سعادة ، ولكن سوء الحظ ساعد

وكان هناك حدث سعيد لفاراداي. نتيجة لتجربة غير ناجحة ، أصيب همفري ديفي بجراح: أثر ذلك مؤقتًا على قدرته على الكتابة. تمكن مايكل من التسجيل لعدة أيام لصالح ديفي ، أعجب به الكتاب الذي أرسله إليه.

عندما فترة قصيرة من العمل كمساعدانتهى ، فاراداي بعث مذكرة إلى العالم يطلب منه توظيفه كمساعد له. بعد فترة وجيزة ، تم طرد أحد العاملين في مختبر ديفي بسبب انتهاك الانضباط ، وسأل هامفري مايكل عما إذا كان يرغب في الحصول على مقعد شاغر.

هل أراد العمل في المعهد الملكي مع أحد أشهر العلماء في العالم؟ كان سؤال بلاغي.

فيزياء فاراداي

شهادة في المعهد الملكي

تولى فاراداي مهامه في 1 مارس 1813 ، عن عمر يناهز 21 عامًا.

كان يتقاضى أجراً جيداً ويخصص للعيشغرفة في العلية من المعهد الملكي. كان مايكل سعيدًا للغاية ، ولم تعد علاقته بهذه المؤسسة متوقفة لمدة 54 عامًا ، والتي نجح في أن يصبح أستاذاً للكيمياء فيها.

تألف عمل فاراداي في إعداد المعداتلإجراء تجارب ومحاضرات في المعهد الملكي. في البداية ، كان يتعامل مع ثلاثي كلوريد النيتروجين ، وهو مادة متفجرة أصابت ديفي. كما فقد مايكل وعيه خلال الانفجار التالي ، وعندما أصيب همفري مرة أخرى ، توقفت التجارب مع هذا المركب.

بعد 7 أشهر من العمل في المعهد الملكيتولى ديفي فاراداي معه في جولة في أوروبا استمرت 18 شهراً. خلال هذا الوقت ، كان مايكل قادراً على مقابلة كبار العلماء ، مثل أندريه ماري أمبير في باريس و أليساندرو فولتا في ميلان. بمعنى ، استبدلت الجولة بتعليم جامعي - تعلم فاراداي الكثير خلال هذه الفترة.

معظم الجولة ، ومع ذلك ، كان غير سعيد ،لأنه بالإضافة إلى العمل العلمي والسكرتاري لخدمة ديفي وزوجته. لم تعتبر زوجة العالم فاراداي مساوية لنفسه بسبب أصله.

عند العودة إلى لندن ، كل شيء في مكانه. وجدد المعهد الملكي عقد مايكل وزاد من مكافأته. حتى أن ديفي بدأ يذكر مساعدته في العمل العلمي.

في عام 1816 في سن ال 24 ، قدم فاراداي محاضرته الأولى حول خصائص المادة. مرّت في مجتمع المدينة الفلسفي. في نفس الوقت في "المجلة العلمية الفصلية" نشر مقالته العلمية الأولى حول تحليل هيدروكسيد الكالسيوم.

في عام 1821 في سن التاسعة والعشرين ، تمت ترقية فاراداي إلى رئيس المزرعة والمختبر في المعهد الملكي. في نفس العام تزوج من سارة بارنارد. أمضى مايكل وزوجته معظم السنوات الـ 46 التالية في المعهد ، ولم يعدا في العلية ، ولكن في غرفة مريحة احتلها همفري ديفي.

في عام 1824 ، تميزت سيرة فاراداي (الفيزيائي) بانتخابه للجمعية الملكية. كان هذا اعترافًا بأنه أصبح عالماً بارزًا.

في عام 1825 ، أصبح عالم الفيزياء فاراداي مدير المختبر.

في عام 1833 أصبح أستاذا للكيمياء فولر في المعهد الملكي لبريطانيا العظمى. شغل فارادى هذا المنصب حتى نهاية حياته.

في عام 1848 و 1858 طُلب منه رئاسة الجمعية الملكية ، لكنه رفض.

فيزياء مايكل فاراداي

الانجازات العلمية

لوصف اكتشافات فاراداي في الفيزياء ،سوف يتطلب أكثر من كتاب واحد. ليس من قبيل المصادفة أن ألبرت أينشتاين أبقى على صور ثلاثة علماء فقط في مكتبه: إسحاق نيوتن ، وجيمس ماكسويل ومايكل فاراداي.

الغريب ، على الرغم من خلال حياة العالماستخدام كلمة "فيزيائي" ، هو نفسه لم يعجبه ، ودائما يطلق على نفسه فيلسوفا. كان فاراداي رجلاً ذهب إلى الاكتشافات من خلال التجارب ، وكان معروفًا أنه لم يتخل أبداً عن الأفكار التي أتت من خلال الحدس العلمي.

إذا كان يعتقد أن الفكرة كانت تستحق ذلك ، هووتابع التجارب ، على الرغم من العديد من الإخفاقات ، حتى وصل إلى ما كان يتوقعه أو غير مقتنع بأن الطبيعة الأم أثبتت أنه خطأ ، وهو ما حدث في حالات نادرة للغاية.

ما الذي اكتشفه فارادي في الفيزياء؟ فيما يلي بعض من أبرز إنجازاته.

1821: اكتشاف الدوران الكهرومغناطيسي

أصبح نذيرا بما ، في المباراة النهائيةأدى في نهاية المطاف إلى إنشاء محرك كهربائي. اعتمد هذا الاكتشاف على نظرية أورستد حول الخواص المغناطيسية للسلك التي يمر من خلالها التيار الكهربائي.

فاراداي في القانون والفيزياء الفورمولا

1823: تسييل الغاز والتبريد

في عام 1802 ، اقترح جون دالتون أن الجميعالغازات يمكن أن تكون مسالة في درجات حرارة منخفضة أو ارتفاع الضغط. أثبت عالم الفيزياء فاراداي ذلك بالتجربة. تحول لأول مرة الكلور والأمونيا إلى سائل.

كانت الأمونيا السائلة لا تزال مثيرة للاهتماملاحظ مايكل فاراداي ، الفيزياء من تبخرها تسبب التبريد. مبدأ التبريد باستخدام التبخر الاصطناعي أظهره علنا ​​وليام كولن في أدنبرة عام 1756. استخدم العلماء مضخة لتقليل الضغط في القارورة باستخدام الأثير ، والتي تبخرت بسرعة. هذا سبب التبريد ، والثلج تشكلت خارج القارورة من الرطوبة في الهواء.

أهمية اكتشاف فاراداي كان ذلكيمكن للمضخات الميكانيكية تحويل الغاز إلى سائل في درجة حرارة الغرفة. ثم يتبخر السائل ، وتبريد كل شيء حوله ، ويمكن جمع الغاز الناتج وضغطه في السائل بواسطة مضخة مرة أخرى ، وتكرار الدورة. هكذا تعمل الثلاجات والمجمدات الحديثة.

في عام 1862 في معرض لندن الدوليعرض فرديناند كاريه أول آلة ثلج تجارية في العالم. استُخدمت الأمونيا كمبرد في الآلة وأنتجت الثلج بسرعة 200 كجم في الساعة.

1825: اكتشاف البنزين

تاريخيا ، أصبح البنزين واحدمن أهم المواد في الكيمياء ، سواء من الناحية العملية ، أي أنها تستخدم في إنشاء مواد جديدة ، وفي النظرية - لفهم الروابط الكيميائية. اكتشف عالِم بنزين في مخلفات إنتاج الغاز الزيتي للإضاءة في لندن.

فاراداي فيزيائي سيرة قصيرة

1831: قانون فاراداي ، الصيغة ، فيزياء الحث الكهرومغناطيسي

كان اكتشافا هاما للغاية لالعلوم والتكنولوجيا المستقبلية. ينص قانون فاراداي (الفيزياء) على أن الحقل المغنطيسي البديل يتسبب في تيار كهربائي في دائرة ، وتتناسب القوة المولَّدة بالكهرباء مباشرة مع معدل التغير في التدفق المغناطيسي. أحد إدخالاته المحتملة هي E | = | dΦ / dt | حيث E هي EMF و F هي التدفق المغناطيسي.

على سبيل المثال ، نقل مغناطيس حدوة الحصانعلى طول السلك ينتج تيارًا كهربائيًا ، نظرًا لأن حركة المغناطيس تؤدي إلى مجال مغناطيسي متناوب. قبل ذلك ، كان مصدر التيار الوحيد هو البطارية. مايكل فاراداي ، الذي أظهرت الاكتشافات في الفيزياء أن الحركة يمكن تحويلها إلى كهرباء ، أو ، في لغة أكثر علمية ، يمكن تحويل الطاقة الحركية إلى طاقة كهربائية ، وبالتالي المساهمة في حقيقة أن معظم الطاقة في بيوتنا اليوم هي بالضبط المبدأ.

يتم تحويل دوران (الطاقة الحركية) لالكهرباء باستخدام الحث الكهرومغناطيسي. ويتم الحصول على الدوران بدوران عندما يتم تطبيق بخار الضغط العالي على التوربينات بواسطة طاقة الفحم أو الغاز أو الذرة ، أو بواسطة ضغط الماء في محطات الطاقة الكهرومائية ، أو بواسطة ضغط الهواء في محطات طاقة الرياح.

1834: قوانين التحليل الكهربائي

قدم الفيزيائي فاراداي مساهمة كبيرة في الخلقالعلم الجديد للكيمياء الكهربائية. وهو ما يفسر ما يحدث في الواجهة بين القطب والمواد المؤينة. وبفضل الكيمياء الكهربائية ، نستخدم بطاريات أيونات الليثيوم والبطاريات التي تعمل على تزويد الأجهزة المحمولة الحديثة بالطاقة. تعتبر قوانين فاراداي مهمة لفهمنا لتفاعلات القطب.

الفيزيائي الانجليزي مايكل فاراداي

1836: اختراع كاميرا محمية

اكتشف عالم الفيزياء فاراداي ذلك عندما يكون كهربائيًايتم شحن الموصل ، تتراكم جميع الرسوم الإضافية على جانبها الخارجي. هذا يعني أنه لا توجد رسوم إضافية داخل غرفة أو قفص مصنوع من المعدن. على سبيل المثال ، الشخص الذي يرتدي بدلة فاراداي ، أي مع بطانة معدنية ، لا يتعرض للكهرباء الخارجية. بالإضافة إلى حماية الناس ، يمكن استخدام قفص فاراداي لإجراء تجارب كهربائية أو كهروكيميائية حساسة للتدخل الخارجي. يمكن للكاميرات المحمية أيضًا إنشاء بقع ميتة للاتصالات المحمولة.

1845: اكتشاف تأثير فاراداي - التأثير المغنطيسي البصري

تجربة مهمة أخرى في تاريخ العلمكانت هناك تجربة أثبتت لأول مرة العلاقة بين الكهرومغناطيسية والضوء ، والتي وصفت في عام 1864 بالكامل من خلال معادلات جيمس كلارك ماكسويل. أثبت عالم الفيزياء فاراداي أن الضوء هو موجة كهرمغنطيسية: "عندما كانت الأقطاب المغناطيسية المعاكسة على نفس الجانب ، كان لها تأثير على الحزمة المستقطبة ، مما يثبت بالتالي اتصال القوة المغناطيسية والضوء ...

1845: اكتشاف diamagnetism كممتلكات لجميع المواد

معظم الناس على دراية بالمغناطيسية الحديديةمثال على المغناطيس العادي. اكتشف فاراداي (عالم فيزيائي) أن جميع المواد شبه مغنطيسية - ضعيفة في الغالب ، ولكن هناك أيضًا مواد قوية. Diamagnetism هو عكس اتجاه المجال المغناطيسي المطبقة. على سبيل المثال ، إذا وضعت القطب الشمالي في مادة diamagnetic شديدة القوة ، فسيتم صدها. Diamagnetism في المواد ، التي يسببها مغناطيسية قوية جدا ، يمكن استخدامها لتحقيق الارتفاع. حتى الأشياء الحية ، مثل الضفادع ، هي عبارة عن شفرة رقمية ويمكن أن تطفو في حقل مغناطيسي قوي.

النهاية

مايكل فاراداي ، الذي اكتشفته في الفيزياءحقق ثورة في العلم ، توفي 25 أغسطس 1867 في لندن عن عمر يناهز 75 عامًا. عاشت زوجته سارة مدة أطول. كان الزوجان بلا أطفال. طوال حياته كان مسيحي متدين وينتمي إلى طائفة البروتستانتية الصغيرة من Sandemanians.

خلال حياة فاراداي تم تقديم الدفنفي وستمنستر أبي مع الملوك والملكات من بريطانيا العظمى والعلماء ، مثل اسحق نيوتن. لقد رفض حفل أكثر تواضعا. قبره ، حيث دفنت سارة أيضا ، يمكن العثور عليه في مقبرة هايجيت في لندن.

  • التقييم:

SEARCH

Physicist Faraday: biography, discoveries

English physicist Michael Faraday, who grew up in a poorfamily, became one of the greatest scientists in the history of mankind. His outstanding achievements were made at a time when science was the lot of people born in privileged families. In his honor, a unit of electric capacity is named Farad.

Faraday (physicist): brief biography

Michael Faraday was born on September 22, 1791 inthe capital of Great Britain London. He was the third child in the family of James and Margaret Faradeyev. His father was a blacksmith who had poor health. Before marriage, his mother worked as a servant. The family lived poorly.

Up to the age of 13, Michael attended a local school, wherereceived primary education. To help the family, he began to work as a messenger in a bookstore. The boy's zeal impressed his employer. A year later, he was promoted to a bookbinder student.

Faraday physicist

Binding and science

Michael Faraday wanted to learn more about the world; he was not limited to the restoration of books. After zealous daily work, he spent all his free time reading books that he had intertwined.

Gradually, he discovered that he was carried away by science. Especially he liked two books:

  • The British Encyclopedia is the source of his knowledge of electricity and much more.
  • "Conversations on Chemistry" - 600 pages about chemistry in an accessible presentation of the authorship of Jane Mars.

He was so fascinated that he began to spend part of his meager earnings on chemicals and equipment to confirm the truth of what he was reading.

Expanding his scientific knowledge, he heard thatknown scientist John Tatum was going to give a series of public lectures on natural philosophy (physics). To attend lectures, it was necessary to pay a fee of one shilling - too much for Michael Faraday. His elder brother, a blacksmith, impressed by the growing devotion of his brother to science, gave him the necessary amount.

michael faraday discovery in physics

Acquaintance with Humphry Davy

Faraday took another step toward science when William Dance, a bookstore client, asked Michael if he had any desire to get tickets for lectures at the Royal Institute.

The lecturer, Sir Humphry Davy, was one of the mostknown in the world of scientists of that time. Faraday jumped at the chance and attended four lectures on one of the newest problems of chemistry - the determination of acidity. He observed the experiments Davy had conducted in the lectures.

It was a world in which he wanted to live. Faraday kept records, and then made so many additions in the notes that he produced a 300-page manuscript, which he interlaced and sent Davy as a token of gratitude.

At this time in the backyard of the bookshopMichael began to conduct more complex experiments to create an electric battery of copper coins and zinc disks, separated by moist salt paper. He used it to decompose chemicals, for example, such as magnesium sulfate. In this field of chemistry, Humphry Davy was a pioneer.

In October 1812, Faraday's apprenticeship was completed, and he began to work as a bookbinder with another employer, whom he found unpleasant.

There would be no happiness, but misfortune helped

And there was a happy event for Faraday. As a result of an unsuccessful experiment, Humphry Davy was wounded: this temporarily affected his ability to write. Michael managed to record for several days for Davy, impressed by the book that he sent to him.

When a short period of work as an assistantended, Faraday sent a note to the scientist asking him to hire him as his assistant. Soon after, one of Davy's lab workers was fired for violating discipline, and Humphrey asked Michael if he would like to take a vacant seat.

Did he want to work at the Royal Institute with one of the most famous scientists in the world? It was a rhetorical question.

Faraday physicist

Career at the Royal Institute

Faraday took up his duties on March 1, 1813, at the age of 21.

He was well paid and allocated for livingroom in the attic of the Royal Institute. Michael was very pleased, and his connection with this institution was no longer interrupted for 54 years, for which he managed to become a professor of chemistry.

Faraday's work consisted in the preparation of equipmentfor conducting experiments and lectures at the Royal Institute. At first, he was dealing with nitrogen trichloride, an explosive that injured Davy. Michael also lost consciousness during the next explosion, and when Humphrey was injured again, experiments with this compound were discontinued.

After 7 months of work at the Royal InstituteDavy took Faraday with him on a tour of Europe, lasting 18 months. During this time, Michael was able to meet great scientists, such as Andre-Marie Amper in Paris and Alessandro Volta in Milan. In a sense, the tour replaced him with a university education - Faraday learned a lot during this time.

Most of the tour, however, he was unhappy,because in addition to scientific and secretarial work was to serve Davy and his wife. The wife of the scientist did not consider Faraday equal to himself because of his origin.

After returning to London, everything fell into place. The Royal Institute renewed Michael's contract and increased his remuneration. Davy even began to mention his assistance in scientific work.

In 1816 At the age of 24, Faraday read his first lecture on the properties of matter. She passed in the City Philosophical Society. At the same time, in the Quarterly Scientific Journal, he published his first scientific article on the analysis of calcium hydroxide.

In 1821 At the age of 29, Faraday was promoted to the post of head of the economy and laboratory of the Royal Institute. In the same year he married Sarah Barnard. Michael and his wife lived in the institute for most of the next 46 years, no longer in the attic, but in a comfortable room that Humphry Davy once occupied.

In 1824, Faraday's biography (physics) was marked by his election as a member of the Royal Society. This was a recognition that he had become a prominent scientist.

In 1825 the physicist Faraday became the director of the laboratory.

In 1833, he became a fuller professor of chemistry at the Royal Institute of Great Britain. Faraday held this post until the end of his life.

In 1848 and 1858 he was invited to lead the Royal Society, but he refused.

michael faraday physics

Scientific achievements

To describe Faraday's discoveries in physics,not one book is required. It is no accident that Albert Einstein in his office stored photos of only three scientists: Isaac Newton, James Maxwell and Michael Faraday.

Strange as it may seem, although even during the life of the scientist,use the word "physicist", he himself did not like it, and he always called himself a philosopher. Faraday was a man who went to discoveries through experiments, and he was known for never giving up ideas that he came to thanks to scientific intuition.

If he believed that the idea was worth it, hecontinued experiments, despite many setbacks, until he reached the expected or until he was convinced that mother nature had proved him wrong, which was extremely rare.

So what did Faraday discover in physics? Here are some of his most notable achievements.

1821: discovery of electromagnetic rotation

It became a harbinger of the fact that, in the finaleventually, led to the creation of an electric motor. The discovery was based on Oersted's theory of the magnetic properties of a wire through which an electric current passes.

Faraday law formula physics

1823: gas liquefaction and cooling

In 1802, John Dalton expressed the opinion that allgases can be liquefied at low temperatures or high pressures. Physicist Faraday proved this by experience. He first turned chlorine and ammonia into a liquid.

Liquid ammonia was still interesting in that, asremarked Michael Faraday, the physics of the process of its evaporation caused cooling. The principle of cooling by means of artificial evaporation was publicly demonstrated by William Cullen in Edinburgh in 1756. The scientist, using a pump, lowered the pressure in the flask with ether, resulting in its rapid evaporation. This caused cooling, and ice formed on the outside of the bulb from the moisture of the air.

The importance of Faraday's discovery was thatMechanical pumps could convert gas into liquid at room temperature. Then the liquid evaporated, cooling all around, the resulting gas could be collected and pump compressed into the liquid again, repeating the cycle. This is how modern refrigerators and freezers work.

In 1862 at the World London ExhibitionFerdinand Carre demonstrated the world's first commercial ice machine. In the car, ammonia was used as the cooling liquid, and it produced ice at a rate of 200 kg per hour.

1825: The discovery of benzene

Historically, benzene has become oneof the most important substances in chemistry, both in a practical sense, ie, it is used in the creation of new materials, and in the theoretical - for understanding the chemical bond. The scientist discovered benzene in oily residues of gas production for lighting in London.

Faraday physicist biography

1831: Faraday's law, the formula, the physics of electromagnetic induction

This was an extremely important discovery forthe future of science and technology. Faraday's law (physics) states that an alternating magnetic field causes an electric current in the circuit, and the generated electromotive force is directly proportional to the rate of change of the magnetic flux. One of its possible records | E | = | dΦ / dt |, where E - EMF, and Ф - magnetic flux.

For example, moving a horseshoe magnetalong the wire produces an electric current, since the motion of the magnet causes an alternating magnetic field. Before that, the only source of current was the battery. Michael Faraday, whose discoveries in physics have shown that the movement can be turned into electricity, or, more scientifically, the kinetic energy can be transformed into electrical, so that it is implicated in the fact that most of the energy in our homes today is produced precisely on this principle.

Rotation (kinetic energy) is transformed intoelectricity by electromagnetic induction. And rotation, in turn, is produced by the action on the turbines of a high-pressure steam produced by the energy of coal, gas or atom, or by the pressure of water in hydroelectric plants, or by air pressure in wind power plants.

1834: The laws of electrolysis

Faraday the physicist made the main contribution to the creation ofa new science of electrochemistry. It explains what happens at the interface between the electrode and the ionized substance. Thanks to electrochemistry, we use lithium-ion batteries and batteries that supply modern mobile equipment. Faraday's laws are important for our understanding of electrode reactions.

English physicist Michael Faraday

1836: The invention of a shielded chamber

The physicist Faraday discovered that when electricthe conductor is charged, the entire excess charge accumulates on its outer side. This means that inside the room or a cell made of metal, an additional charge does not appear. For example, a person dressed in a Faraday suit, that is, with a metal lining, is not exposed to external electricity. In addition to protecting people, the Faraday cage can be used to conduct electrical or electrochemical experiments sensitive to external disturbances. Shielded cameras can also create dead zones for mobile communications.

1845: discovery of the Faraday effect - magneto-optical effect

Another important experiment in the history of sciencewas an experiment that first proved the connection between electromagnetism and light, which in 1864 was completely described by the equations of James Clerk Maxwell. Physicist Faraday established that light is an electromagnetic wave: "When the opposite magnetic poles were on the same side, it exerted an effect on the polarized beam, which thus proves the connection between magnetic force and light ...

1845: The discovery of diamagnetism as a property of all matter

Most people are familiar with ferromagnetismexample of ordinary magnets. Faraday (a physicist) discovered that all substances are diamagnetic, mostly weak, but strong ones also occur. Diamagnetism is the opposite of the direction of the applied magnetic field. For example, if you place the North Pole in a strongly diamagnetic substance, it will repel. Diamagnetism in materials, induced by very strong modern magnets, can be used to achieve levitation. Even living beings, such as frogs, are diamagnetic and can soar in a strong magnetic field.

the end

Michael Faraday, whose discoveries in physicsmade a revolution in science, died August 25, 1867 in London at the age of 75 years. His wife Sarah lived longer. The couple had no children. All his life he was a pious Christian and belonged to a small Protestant sect of Sandemanians.

Even during his lifetime, Faraday was offered burialin Westminster Abbey, along with the kings and queens of Britain and scholars, like Isaac Newton. He refused for the sake of a more modest ceremony. His grave, where Sarah is also buried, can be found at Highgate Cemetery in London.

  • Rating: